HND Assignment Help
Always Delivering Quality Assignments

Health and social care in UK

Contemporary health and social care in UK

Health and social care domain in UK is passing through vital changes and these changes have paved the path for the better health and social care environment in United Kingdom. This is the final report from the independent Commission on the Future of Health and Social Care in England. In it, the commission discusses the need for a new settlement for health and social care to provide a simpler pathway through the current maze of entitlements. The commission, chaired by Kate Barker, proposes a new approach that redesigns care around individual needs regardless of diagnosis, with a graduated increase in support as needs rise, particularly towards the end of life. The commission has concluded that this vision for a health and care system fit for the 21st century is affordable and sustainable if a phased approach is taken and hard choices are taken about taxation. Moreover, it is really important to follow health and social care act 2012 and health and social care act 2008.

Health and social care act 2012

Health and social care act 2012 proposes to create an independent NHS Board, promote patient choice, and to reduce NHS administration costs.

Key areas for health and social care act 2012

  • Establishes an independent NHS Board to allocate resources and provide commissioning guidance
  • Increases GPs’ powers to commission services on behalf of their patients
  • Strengthens the role of the Care Quality Commission
  • Develops Monitor, the body that currently regulates NHS foundation trusts, into an economic regulator to oversee aspects of access and competition in the NHS
  • Cuts the number of health bodies to help meet the Government’s commitment to cut NHS administration costs by a third, including abolishing Primary Care Trusts and Strategic Health Authorities.

Health and social care act 2008

Health and social care act 2008 bill seeks to enhance professional regulation and create a new integrated regulator, the Care Quality Commission, for health and adult social care, with focus on providing assurance about the safety and quality of care for patients and service users.

Key areas for health and social care act 2008

  • Assures the safety and quality of care and creates a new regulator, the Care Quality Commission
  • Equips the new regulator with tougher powers, backed by fines, to inspect, investigate and intervene where hospitals are failing to meet hygiene standards
  • Strengthens clinical governance and reforms the system of professional regulation to ensure it earns and sustains the confidence of patients, professionals and Parliament
  • Extends financial support to mothers-to-be from the 29th week of pregnancy
  • Ensures all healthcare professional regulatory bodies use the civil, rather than criminal, standard of proof
  • Creates an independent adjudicator to undertake independent and objective formal adjudication for the professional regulatory bodies
  • Ensures that all healthcare organizations employing or contracting with doctors appoint a ‘responsible officer’ to work with the GMC to identify and handle cases of poor professional performance by doctors
  • Updates the Public Health (Control of Disease) Act 1984 with the aim of providing a more effective and proportionate response to infectious disease.

Health and social care level 3

One or more pathways within this qualification has been approved by the DfE to appear in the 2016 Performance Tables. Health and social care Level 3 is ideal if you’re a care worker, and you have some responsibility in your workplace. You sometimes work without supervision. You want to develop or demonstrate your skills, perhaps to become a senior care worker.

There are two pathways available at Health and social care level 3:

Depending on the pathway you choose, you complete either nine (Adults) or fourteen (Children and Young People) core units from a range, among them:

  • Promote equality and inclusion in health, social care or children’s and young people’s settings
  • Assessment and planning with children and young people
  • Promote person-centred approaches in health and social care.

You also choose optional units that suit your career plans. Units you might choose include:

  • Work with babies and young children to promote their development and learning.
  • Purpose and principles of independent advocacy
  • Support individuals to access education, training or employment.

For a full list of units, download the qualification handbook from the centre documents section

Health and social care level 3 qualifications can help you succeed in a wide range of healthcare settings, such as residential care, community and primary care, acute health environments (eg hospitals), domiciliary services (home care / home help), supported living projects, community-based care and private care for a person or family.

NVQ Level 3 health and social care

The QCF (Qualifications and Credit Framework) Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care is made up of mandatory and optional units. This qualification demonstrates your occupational competence and is suitable for those currently working in the sector such as those in a senior care worker role. There are three pathways available including Learning Disabilities, Dementia and Children and Young People. This qualification was previously known as the NVQ Level 3 in Health and Social Care. Funding for adult social care employers for the Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care qualification is available from Skills for Care through the Workforce Development Fund in England. Learners can also apply for the 24+ Advanced Learning Loan if eligible.